Wisconsin is working on several bills to regulate driving and cell phone usage. In one of those bills legislators aim to fine anyone using a cell phone while driving in a construction zone. Earlier last month, Wisconsin Legislators approved a bill imposing a $20 to $40 fine for drivers talking on their cell phone in a construction zone, with the fine increasing by $50 to $100 for subsequent offenses within a year. The bill still needs to be signed into law by Governor Walker.
Wisconsin currently bans cell phone usage while driving for any driver with a probationary license or instruction permit, except to report an emergency. This law applies to all cell phones, handheld, and hands-free. However, texting while driving is against the law for all Wisconsin drivers.
Many other states currently require that drivers talk on the phone hands-free only, including our Neighbors to the south in Illinois. When traveling make sure you follow the local cell phone usage laws.
California, Connecticut, Delaware, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Oregon, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia (plus Washington, D.C., Puerto Rico, Guam and the U.S. Virgin Islands) prohibit all drivers from using hand-held cell phones while driving.